Monday, May 23, 2016

good books part 2

The last time a book recommendation post appeared on Indulge Inspire Imbibe was January 2015! Here's a look at a handful of books I've read over last year and a half that I think are worth a mention.

Eligible
Curtis Sittenfeld
I loved Eligible! I always enjoy Curtis Sittenfeld's novels and this one was my favorite of hers so far. It was a fun read with interesting and amusing characters. Although, I wasn't a huge fan of the ending. It was one of those - I've invested so much in these characters but this cheesy, quick wrap up is all I get? Ah well. I'd still recommend it and would love to hear others thoughts!

Fates and Furies
Lauren Groff
This novel is on the more serious side of the spectrum, and one of the years most talked about. It was remarkable and complex. An excerpt that sums it up nicely: Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets. At the core of this rich, expansive, layered novel, Lauren Groff presents the story of one such marriage over the course of twenty-four years.

The Girl On The Train
Paula Hawkins
Everyone read this thriller sometime in the last year, right? If you haven't, give it a go; it's exhilarating, a for sure page turner. You won't be disappointed!

Luckiest Girl Alive 
Jessica Knoll 
Recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult - the author debuts a solid mystery novel with a compelling intensity and twists you won't see coming. This book was hard to put down.

Pretty Girls
Karin Slaughter
This was, hands down, the most terrifying, disturbing book I have ever read. I had NO IDEA going into it, so let this be a fair warning. I mean, it was one of those once you start you can't stop (except to put it down because it becomes so disgusting you need to remove yourself and take a breather...) I was in a constant state of shock. And I keep wondering about author Karin Slaughter. WHO IS THIS WOMAN?! Honestly. I have so many questions about how her mind works. If any of you have read this, please share your thoughts - or just tell me to relax about it already. 

Brain On Fire
Susannah Calahan
Brain on Fire is an award winning memoir of Susannah's struggle with a rare brain disease at age 24 - diagnosed in the knick of time. Her story is profound and breathtaking, her writing swift and compelling. I was glad I read this one, it's nice to incorporate true stories in the mix of all these crazy-town girl focused thriller novels. 


I Smile Back 
Amy Koppleman 
Written in 2008 and made into a movie starring Sarah Silverman in 2015, this novel tackles the crippling mental illness of a suburban Mom with a loving husband and two adorable kids. As Laney struggles with addiction, depression and severe anxiety, I found myself routing for her, enraged at her, and deeply compelled by her come-undone story. Curious if any of you have seen the movie? Is it worth watching?

What are you guys reading? What should I read next?